Thursday, December 18, 2008

Well, I'm feeling better today. My shoulder is feeling a little bit better, but the incision in my belly button is actually starting to hurt more. Ugh. At least my work gave me the day off (well, I'm 'on call'), so that I can take some extra time to rest. I always feel like I'll be able to go back to work right after surgery, but I think I need to start allowing myself more time to recover.


What do people do all day? Honestly...I've been bored to death. There's really nothing on TV during the day, besides the The View, Dr. Phil, and Ellen. I can only check my Facebook or Myspace so many times, and then I'm just done. If I could get around easier, I would start doing some stuff around the house, but I feel like I'm just hobbling around in pain, so I really can't do much.


I think I've caught up on most of the reality TV shows out there. I can't wait for The City to start--I love Whitney and think she's the most relateable character on The Hills. I think Bromance looks completely idiotic, yet I have a feeling I'll end up watching it simply because Brody Jenner is the star. Snoop Dogg's Father Hood is hilarious--it's so funny to see Snoop baking cakes and vaccuuming. I think it's cool to see him involved in his children's lives, but then again, I don't get why his wife was so shocked that he was willing to watch their children. If I'm not mistaken, it takes two to tango, so why wouldn't he help to watch his own children? That's one thing I can't stand--when men think that they are "babysitting" when they are watching their own children. Actually, it's called being a parent, not a babysitter! If they consider it babysitting, then women should get paid every day for watching the kids. Doubt that's gonna happen... Haha, I'm not sure why I'm randomly babbling on and on about this, but I feel like I've heard so many men lately talking about it, that it's driving me nuts.

I've also become addicted to TMZ.com and Perezhilton.com. I'm not sure why--they basically say the exact same thing, but some of the videos they have are hilarious. I love seeing celebrities being caught in startling situations and how they react to random questions. I was talking with Kyle last night about how they had come up with a list of the 10 Worst Celebrities to ask for an autograph from, and Will Ferrell and his co-star John C. Reilly (from Step Brothers and Talladega Nights) landed on the list. I found this surprising because they seem so funny and relateable. I don't get why celebrities get so hung up on themselves that they lose sight of the importance of their fans. If they don't have any fans, they won't have a career. Hello! It's the same with American Idol winners. Once they win, they end up ignoring fans, but the fans are the ones who voted them to the top.


I was talking to one of my best friends last night (I won't say her name so she isn't embarrassed), and she was telling me how one of her girlfriends decided to let her know that her ex is dating a new girl. This upset her so much that she ended up bawling her eyes out last night. It made me start thinking about what I would do, and whether or not I would tell a friend. I really think it depends on the person. I know some girls that would want to know, and it would help them to move on. Others, like the one I talked to last night, would have an even harder time knowing. Now she's going to be focused on the thought of him with this girl, even though the girl doesn't seem to have very many redeeming qualities. What would you want? Would you want to know? I think if I were going to find out either way, I would want to find out from a friend that would be able to phrase it in the best way possible. However, in my friend's case, there's a good chance she would have never found out, so that's why it seems to unnecessary that the other girl told her. Either way, in combination with my friend's ongoing health issues, I wish her friend had never said anything.


Alright, that's all for now. I'm going to go drink some water, lay down for a while, and hopefully take a nap.


Until next time...
Brooke

Wednesday, December 17, 2008

Oh the joys of surgery

I know this probably isn't the best way to start out my blog, but it's also the reason I have enough time right now to start one. I'm sitting on my couch, doing absolutely nothing, recovering from the surgery I had last night. I found out I have endometriosis, so they had to go in and remove all the endometrial tissue. Oh joy! The surgery itself went well, but waking up from anesthesia was a whole other story. Today, my incisions are not very painful, but my shoulder is killing me. I'm thinking something went wrong when they were moving me after surgery, or I was laid in a strange position during surgery. Either way...thank goodness I have that vicodin here.

I honestly was bored and decided to start this blog. I'm planning on using it as a journal/notepad for random thoughts. Some may make sense, some may not...oh well.

My angels (aka my dogs) are making me feel better today, so here's a little picture of each of them...


I still cannot believe that Christmas is next week. This year has gone by so fast, yet when I think of things that happened in February or March, it also can feel like it was soo long ago. I'm sure you know what I mean. I just hope 2009 brings good things to those that I love and care about. I am also hoping that 2009 will be a year of good health for me. I'm so exhausted with health issues, that I would just ask for one year of health. That would be SO nice.
This Christmas, Kyle is coming to my parents' house for Christmas. My sister Camilla and her husband Scott will be bringing my nephew Roan out, which I cannot wait for. It's going to be so nice, but I also feel bad for Kyle. He's so used to going to Idaho to see his family, but this year he's not going, and they can't come out to see him. I know it won't be the same for him, but my mom is one of those people that can make anyone feel comfortable, so I'm sure he'll still have a great time. I honestly am looking forward to spending time with my family more than all the gifts. I think it's a real sign of maturity when you are able to get past the idea of gifts, and think about memories instead. I am so lucky to have parents who spoil me at Christmas, but even if they didn't, I would still love Christmas. I cannot wait to see Roan open gifts! Children are so honest and pure, which is so refreshing to be around.
Ehh..my stomach is cramping up right now, so I think I am going to end this for now. I think it's time to lay down, maybe watch Step Brothers with Will Ferrell (which is hilarious, in case you haven't seen it!), and wait for Kyle to get home. I hope everyone has a great holiday season.
Till next time,
Me =)